RSS

Define: Music

22 Apr

My favorite thing about Google and possibly the best thing that I have discovered is that I just have to type in the words Define: [insert whatever I need to look up]. Sure, I am eliminating the need for a dictionary.

I have been thinking a lot of about music lately and how the lyrics tell a story. I have been really into folk music as of late, Mumford and Sons and The Head and The Heart. So I asked Google as I like to do to define music, what is music? Music is in fact a noun, pointing out the obvious. Definition: 1. The art of science of combing vocal or instrumental sounds (or both) to produce beauty of form, harmony, and expression of emotion. 2. The vocal or instrumental sound produced in this way.

In my own words, Music is the art of combing both vocal and instrumental sounds to produce emotional response through the form or in the harmony. I like Word Press tag definition the best: “We’re melodic creatures, responding emotionally and physically to the lull of a siren’s heartache or the strum of a guitar.”

I have spent a lot of time at music festival, not really. I have been to a least two or three mostly Austin City Limits but I have been to a variety of concerts. I love the atmosphere, I love how everyone is gathered together to here one band play or see their favorite artist in real life. Here are some of my photos from experience raw live music.

Image

Passion

Image

Austin City Limits 2011

Image

To Far away to see, thankful for giant screens

Image

First college campus concert

Image

Home is where the music will never stop playing

Image

If the music is good,  you listen 

Image

Lead singer of Switchfoot

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
