RSS

Change of Heart and Mind

04 May

How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes/ I struggle to find any truth in your lies/ And now my heart stumbles on things I don’t know/ My weakness I feel I must finally show/ Lend me your hand and we’ll conquer them all/ But lend me your heart and I’ll just let you fall/ Lend me your eyes I can change what  you see/But your soul you must keep, totally free. (Mumford and Sons- Awake my Soul)

This is how I feel towards my major. Last night, as I laying awake trying to sleep. Which did not really happen. I was thinking about my future and how coming into college I knew that I wanted to be a neuroscience major. I have had my plan mapped out since I was 12. Neuroscience is not easy, sure, it comes easy to some people. I have struggled all semester to make the grade. I love the professors and feel blessed to have had such wonderful teachers. I have come to realize that Neuroscience is not for me. I love the brain, I love learning about mental disorders. I love reading about it. It is just something that I cannot do. It took me the whole semester to realize that.

I ended up changing my schedule around, I am taking a semester off from math and focusing on Anthropology- Forensic Science concentration. It sounds like fun. Sure, Neuroscience sounds like fun but Forensic Science sounds cool. There is a big difference between fun and cool. I have been doing a lot of reading about it over the last few weeks and feel that it is for me. It sounds like a good mix of sociology, biology, psychology, and stuff that I am interested in. Plus the people in the picture looked happy and that they loved what they were doing. It sounds like a good balance of fun and work. Something that I am lacking in my life. Neuroscience majors are suppose to have fun geeking out over the brain. This is about 1% of the time, no fun allowed. Ever. I plan to go talk to an adviser to get my major changed.

In the place of story and poetry

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
