RSS

Telling Stories with John Green and Jonathan Safran Foer

03 Jun

So I just finished reading The Fault in Our Stars by: John Green. I found a few quotes that I really like.

This was in the author’s note, I believe that it plays some important role in helping in why we tell stories.

“This is not so much an author’s note as an author’s reminder of what was printed in small type a few pages ago: This book is a work of fiction. I made it up. Neither novels or their readers benefit from attempts to divine whether any facts hide in the story. Such efforts attack the very idea that made-up stories can matter, which is sort of the foundational assumption of our species. I appreciate your cooperation in this matter.”

Now here are some quotes that I liked:

“Late in the winter of my seventeenth year, my mother decided I was depressed, presumably because I rarely left the house, spent quite a lot of time in bed, read the same book over and over, ate infrequently, and devoted quite a bit of my abundant free time thinking about death” (1).

“I looked at Augustus Waters, who looked back at me. You could almost see through his eyes they were so blue. ‘There will come a time,’ I said, ‘when all of us are dead. All of us. There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten and all of this’ -I gestured encompassingly- ‘will have been for naught. Maybe that time is coming soon and maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There was time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be a time after. And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it. God knows that’s what everyone else does'” (13).

“I could feel everybody watching us, wondering what was wrong with us, and whether it would kill us, and how heroic my mom must be, and everything else. That was the worst part about having cancer, sometimes. The physical evidence of the disease separates you from other people. We were irreconcilably other, and never was it more obvious then when the three of us walked through the empty plan, the stewardess nodding sympathetically and gesturing tower our row in the distant back” (144). 

I also this evening watched Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close with my dad this evening. The whole movie reminded me on why well tell stories and that telling these stories we are able to gain a better understanding of who we are as people. As human beings, we need to share stories in order to feel a connection with each other and by doing this we are helping ourselves move through the pain, a little easier. I have not read the book in a while and I do not own it by here are some of my favorite quotes that I found online.

“I like to see people reunited, I like to see people run to each other, I like the kissing and the crying, I like the impatience, the stories that the mouth can’t tell fast enough, the ears that aren’t big enough, the eyes that can’t take in all of the change, I like the hugging, the bringing together, the end of missing someone.”

“My life story is the story of everyone I’ve ever met.”

“I have so much to say to you. I want to begin at the beginning, because that is what you deserve. I want to tell you everything, without leaving out a single detail. But where is the beginning? And what is everything?”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2012 in Telling Stories with

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Telling Stories with John Green and Jonathan Safran Foer

  1. Sara Katherine

    June 3, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    I’m reading EL&IC in my American Lit class next semester! Totes excited! Also, how much did the John Green book cost? Love this post! Do more!

     
  2. Rachel

    June 4, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    I got the John Green book from the library. I love living within a block from the city library, I just have to hop on my bike and go.

     

Leave a Reply

 
