RSS

Community

24 Aug

On the back of my apartment t-shirt we have a bible verse, one that I am in love with.

And we urge you, brothers and sisters, warn those who are idle and disruptive, encourage the disheartened, help the weak, be patient with everyone. Make sure that nobody pays back wrong for wrong, but always strive to do what is good for each other and for everyone else. (1 Thessalonians 5:14-15)

Last night, we had our first hall meeting and I am apart of Global Community but not really. There are a lot of cute Dutch and Australian guys that live down the hall from me. A lot of it is co-ed and after being in an all- girls dorm on the six floor with limited visitation hours. I am welcoming the change. I also have four awesome roommates, who I love sharing meals and cups of tea with. We are all so different which I like. The all theme of living in my apartment building is community.

The verse on the back of our hall t-shirts is from 1 Thessalonians and it is about encourage members in our community and being kind and supporting everyone in our community. Throughout Thessalonians, Paul is writing to a church in Thessalonica and specifically to a group of believers in the church there. Paul is writing to reassure the Christians there that they need to go one working quietly while waiting in hope for the return of Christ.

I feel like Paul’s message speaks to us today about forming a community on the campus of Private University. A community in which we are a mix of international and normal students. Even though we come from different religious beliefs. We have some doubters, some of us who are firm in our faith, other’s who have a totally different faith, or might not belief in God at all.

I don’t except us to be best friends but I hope to get to know my neighbors, who I believe are all international students. There are about three other rooms on my hall plus the faculty-in-residence. This verse also gives me hope for this semester in the sense that I will find a community that I can be apart of, either it being a new church that I feel in home or being a new community of friends. I have been back on the church finding band wagon. I am exploring a lot outside of my Lutheran faith. My home church pastor, who I miss and hearing his sermons, encouraged me to explore and see what else is out there. He said whatever I find even if it is not a Lutheran church that I will know what is right for me.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Community

  1. Sara Katherine

    August 28, 2012 at 1:14 am

    Looking forward to reading more about your community in Brooks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
