RSS

Practicing Gratitude

05 Nov

As most of you know this weekend was homecoming, I attended two events Bonfire and the Parade. I have been thinking a lot about life and my life in general.

This morning over a breakfast, my friend and I were talking about general what’s going on in our lives. I made the comment that since I was worried about how housing was going to work for the summer and that I was planning to take classes at Private University. That since I know, due to family personal issues, that most likely will not be getting a car next year. That it would make things easier, like when I want to go home. to target, relay meetings, grocery shopping, or that emergency trip to the bike shop. I could go when I want to go or where I want to go without other people, sometimes I hate being dependent on people. I would not have to worry about getting a ride. The flip side to that is that getting a ride places has taught me how to communicate better and build relationships with people around me. It has taught me to practice humility and patience.  On the other hand, I worry about since I am living in a different on-campus apartment that is really off-campus next year about rides to church on Sunday.

I decide that I should be grateful for what I have now. That I should worry about the future but things will work out.

Things that I am grateful for:

1. My parents- who support me no matter and their continued support when I am having rough days. That they pay for my education and for my textbooks because they want what is best for me.

2. My College Friends- who are willing to listen and have meaningful decisions with

3. My roommates- who think that I am crazy half the time because I am obsessed my new phone. I am also able to talk to them about my day and hear about theirs.

4. Being able to study at a wonderful university- as I look at Grad. programs and future plans, I worry that I won’t be able to find a university where I am challenged, pushed, and taught to look at hard issues in many different ways by so many different faculty members.

5. That I have a roof over my head and food in my belly- I was doing some research earlier this afternoon and I should be thankful that I access to clean water, food resources, and a safe place to live.

6. The people who serve our country and the Veterans who have defended our country- they are doing or have done a job that I could never do.

There is so much that I am thankful for, this just a short list.

What are you thankful for? What ways do you practice gratitude? 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Practicing Gratitude

  1. Sara Katherine

    November 5, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    What a positive outlook on the car situation. I’m sure your roommate next year will be just as willing to get you to the store as your ones this year. Also, maybe by next year you will know more people at church. Ones with cars. I’m proud of you for continuing to branch out in social aspects. I think this means you are working hard still towards your goal of overcoming your shyness to an extent. Love you little red.

     

Leave a Reply

 
