RSS

Books that I read over Break

13 Jan

A few weeks ago, since I listen to audiobooks every once in a while. I was debating if I should get an audible account. I like to listen, late a night if I can’t sleep. I read this fact: That the average person reads six books in a year. I am not sure if this is a good study. Early today, I read that 1 in 4 Americans did not read a book this past year. The study I believe was done in 2007. I decided because I believe in proving points that I would in the month that I had off from school try and make it through six books and more. Which I successfully did and celebrated by watching “The Office” and “John Adams”.

Here is my list:

1. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams

2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky

3. I am Legend, by Richard Matheson

 4Room, by Emma Donoghue

5. Notable American Women, by Ben Marcus

6. The Uncommon Reader, by Alan Bennett (Not really worth buying considering it is so short but a good light read after reading some heavy dystopian novels and depressing novels.)

7. Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card

8. Space Trilogy Book #1 Out of the Silent Plant, by C.S. Lewis

9. The Unit, by Ninni Holmgvist (think: Never Let Me Go with old people and could also be similar to The Handmaiden’s Tale)

10. The Namesake, by Jhumpa Lahiri (we read one of her short stories in my American Lit. class this past semester. I believe it was called “This Blessed House”.)

11. Still Alice, by Lisa Genova (Supports the reason that I want to study psychology but extremely depressing.)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Books that I read over Break

  1. Sara Katherine

    January 14, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Yay! Can’t wait to see what else you read this semester! I’d like to see/read more from you on Still Alice/ why you want to study psychology.

     

Leave a Reply

 
