RSS

Thoughts on Everything and In-between

16 Sep

It’s almost 11, I am suppose to be getting in bed, and going to sleep but everything seems to be pulling me in every direction.

I have three test this week. Something that I have forgotten exist in the college world. I have done this before and very thankful that my only busy week on this semester is at the start. I have decided not to plan meetings with friends for coffee (unless I really need them) or that thing called excise. I might be skipping my yoga class on Wednesday for some me-time/ study time.

Another thing that has been on my chest is one of my favorite classes: History of Roman Catholicism

It’s an amazing class and I love every minute of it. I have a confession to make, I attended my first Mass last week and went on Sunday night again. The first time, I totally had no idea what I was getting myself into. I had done some reading online before hand on kinda what to except since Catholic churches scare me. I have really good friends who are Catholic and are super friendly but going to church was little nerve racking. I made it and I feel guilty for sitting the last pew but wanted to be able watch other people around me. After having my fears reassured and seeing a very familiar face in terms of my old English professor. I don’t think he noticed me but I might have been watching him throughout the service since he was in my line of sight (not in a creepy way, more in a observing people around me way). I was able to locate my Roman Missal and was able to pick up the difference between Lutheran liturgy and Catholic liturgy both are extremely similar just some word changes and possibly different meanings (not really sure). I enjoyed the hymns, the sermon, the chanting, and the bells during the Eucharist. I sat in the pew quietly during communion with my hymnal (singing along) since I am not allowed to take communion. Over all the experience was great, it just raises some questions on my own faith. Another confession, I have been discerning since the end of the summer about my own faith. I had already been doing a ton of research online about the Catholic church and the Lutheran church. It’s difficult since I have started to question my own Lutheran upbringing and it’s very complicated and upsetting at times.

Enough on that, Hebrew is going well and stressful mostly because we have our first test. It has become slightly rewarding since I can now pick out words and make somewhat of an attempt to sound them out. I spend most of my time being wrong. Except for getting perfect score on the first quiz.

Modern English Grammar has also been hit and miss. I am starting to pick up on little things that I do in my writing and make an attempt at correcting. I have gotten all the assignments right so far. My professor made us take a pre-test the second day of class so that we can see where we are at the end of the semester. I don’t think that I did very well.

American Lit is very interesting. My professor is amazing and I haven’t talked yet because I have this fear that whatever comes out of my mouth is going to sound stupid compared to his amazing insights. The girl, who sits next to me, showed up for the first time in three weeks. She came the first week but hasn’t shown up the rest of the semester. She just sat there the entire time and watched me take my usually four pages of notes. She also asked about the exam on Friday (one of three grades) and was still confused when I tried to explain to her what was going on.

I am also still working in the lab which my hours got cut so I am only working eight hours more like less then eight hours. I have to log eight hours because the professor I work for is worried that department might say something if he is not using the entire budget that has been set aside for student workers like the ten other people and I.

Doing a ton of reading and got Margaret Atwood’s new book which I am excited to read at some point.

That is all I got.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
