RSS

Why is housing so hard?

29 Oct

This past week has been housing sign-ups here at Private University. Due to some complications of certain roommates, not the person who I have share a wing of the apartment with and not our little sophomore (who is sweet and adorable) but the math-secondary education major.

My friend and I are abandoning campus living for an off-campus apartment. I am more looking forward to gathering information about the apartment more then anything else. The thing that bothers me about the off-campus apartment is that it is really far away from campus. I thought living in UParks was far but I drove by it today and well it was far. Sure, I would not be driving everyday we would have to work out some car pulling system to UParks to catch the shuttle everyday. It would work out great. It is also very affordable and in a good location in order to get to the main road during Basketball season.

I think the driving thing is killing me more than anything else. It would be a long drive to church on Sundays and to school since I would still get a parking sticker. Being able to go back and forth has been a struggle this whole semester. I am arranging my schedule for next semester to fit going home for lunch.

I started looking at getting a one bedroom and one bathroom at Fairmont which is owned by Private University. I could walk to class literally because the two buildings that I would be living in are right next store. Homecoming would not be an issue because I could walk ten feet for the parade. I could walk to Mass on the Sundays that I go to Mass.

I feel like living by myself would be scary at first but I could do it. I won’t have to worry about the bus. I might not walk home after dark but it would be quiet that I could study in my apartment. I could burn my candle without anyone complaining. I could also have wild parties (just kidding).

I really want to live with my best friend though. I feel like am abandoning her and guilty about the whole situation.

SK- I owe you a cup of coffee and something yummy. (The wild ginger).

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Why is housing so hard?

  1. Jana

    December 20, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    Did you find housing? How is friend? Did she get letter you did on her You nspire me to write a blog.

     
  2. Rachel

    January 2, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    I ended up finding housing, I think I set up housing during one of my classes. I am going to be living in the same apartment complex as the last school year. I really thrived in that kind of community. I was able to talk brielfy with my friend. I think we are both going our separate ways. I have really good memories with her and I think she is going to do something great with her life. It’s hard to live with somebody who knows that they are upset with you all the time. I also talked to the Community Leader about it and I am waiting for my friend to come to me.

    Sometimes I worry about my own blog. It’s more of a fun project and I try to post once a month. I am still trying to develop more as a writer. Since I am not very good at writing. I know I have a lot of good thoughts (as many professors and friends tell me). Putting things into words are difficult, I tend to write more when I am upset about something. I am trying to get away from that kind of writing.

    I love reading your blog, I find it interesting. I know your going to be a super awesome nurse. Keep writing, I want to hear about your adventures.

     
  3. Jana

    January 4, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    That is so sad about you and your friend:( I am sorry to hear it. I think you’re doing the right thing waiting. It is better to wait for her to not be mad probably. But I am sure you have lots more friends. Hope your semeter ended up good and Hebreww came out okay, I know from Twitter. Are you still abroad? Happy year new.

     

Leave a Reply

 
