RSS

Books that I Read Over the Summer Part 2

24 Aug

Welcome to the continuation of what I read when I am not in school.

1. And the Mountains Echoed, by Khaled Hosseini

Not as good as I thought it would be. Hosseini seemed to skip and leave out what was going on socially during the period of 50 years that the novel took place over. Overall a beautiful novel about rediscovering family and where your roots lie . I did not get to the author speak at the local bookstore back in June. I had to work that night and could not find someone to take my shift. My sister did get my book signed for me but missed hearing him speak.

2. Atticus, by Ron Hansen

3. Power and the Glory, by Grahame Greene

4. Peace Like a River, by Leif Enger

5. The Man Who Was Thursday, by G.K Chesterton

I have read it before and I hope that I have the chance to study this novel in a class. It would make for a good class discussion.

6. A Wild Surge of Guilty Passion, by Ron Hansen

A really intense novel and based off the historical events of the murder of Albert Snyder by his wife, Ruth Brown Snyder and Judd Gray (Ruth’s lover). Tons of references to the Biblical Story of Cain and Abel.

7. Hitler’s Niece, by Ron Hansen

The most disturbing book that I have read in a while. I don’t recommend this at all- dry and boring.

8. Love in Ruins, by Walker Percy

9. Grendel, by John Gardner

Re-telling of Beowulf from the perspective of Grendel.

10. Exiles, by Ron Hansen

11. Mariette in Ecstasy, by Ron Hansen

You guessed it, another Ron Hansen novel. This one was really intense, like A Wild Surge of Guilty Passion intense. I learned a lot about stigmata, which is when a person experiences wounds that were similar to Christ, a really rare thing (I guess). Hopefully, I will learn more during my History of Roman Catholicism class, next semester.

12. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, by Junot Diaz

I am not sure if I got all the references to “Star Trek”. “Doctor Who”, or any other pop culture super hero. I enjoyed the history sections and how everyone’s story seemed to fit together. An interesting read.

13. The Moviegoer, by Walker Percy

14. A Visit from the Goon Squad, by Jennifer Egan

15. Gone Girl, by Gillian Fylnn

16. The Burgess Boys, by Elizabeth Strout

17. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, by Mark Haddon 

A very strange novel.

18. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford, by Ron Hansen 

So many good quotes and reminded me of a Cormac McCarthy novel. The movie was not as good. It did stay close to the book and had a wonderful narration.

19. We Need New Names, NoViolet Buiawayo 

An amazing novel, thankful that a friend recommended it to me.

20. The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls, by Anton DiSclafani 

A very interesting summer read.

21. The Shipping News, by Annie Proulx 

22. Bossypants, by Tina Fey 

23. My Name is Asher Lev, by Chaim Potok

24. That Night,  by Alice McDermott 

25. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore, by Robin Sloan 

26. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment